

NOVA SCOTIA FEDERATION OF MUNICIPALITIES

May 17, 2021

ACTING PRESIDENT: Mayor Amanda McDougall Cape Breton Municipality

IMMEDIATE PAST-PRESIDENT: Mayor Pam Mood Town of Yarmouth

REGIONAL CAUCUS CHAIR: Councillor Waye Mason Halifax Regional Municipality

RURAL CAUCUS CHAIR: Mayor Carolyn Bolivar-Getson District of Lunenburg

TOWN CAUCUS CHAIR: Mayor Brenda Chisholm-Beaton Town of Port Hawkesbury Municipality of Argyle Office of the Chief Administrative Officer P.O. Box 10, Tusket, NS BOW 3M0

Delivered Via Email

RE: Renewal of the Georges Bank Offshore Oil & Gas Exploration and Drilling Moratorium

Dear Mr. Muise:

We would like to inform you that your letter to NSFM President Emily Lutz, dated March 17, 2021 was received as information at a recent Board meeting.

NSFM is currently engaged in advocacy work on 5 resolutions as voted on by our membership. They include the following:

- Phasing out the Capped Assessment Program (CAP).
- Legislation to enact an Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) program.
- Addressing inadequacies in municipal funding.
- Enabling municipal modernization.
- Providing equitable funding for the maintenance and construction of roads.

Our resolution process requires that all proposed resolutions fall within the mandate of municipalities. While we recognize the George Bank drilling moratorium is an important issue for members in the South Western Shore Region, we regret that we are unable to formally advance advocacy work on this issue.

On behalf of the Board, I wish you the best with this initiative.

Kind regards,

Mayor Amanda McDougall Acting President, Nova Scotia Federation of Municipalities

1809 Barrington St., Suite 1304, Halifax, NS B3J 3K8 * Tel: (902)423-8331 * Fax: (902) 425-5592 * E-mail: info@nsfm.ca